Don’t let solving problems get in the way of loving people

The above title is my favorite quote from this weekend’s Conference. President Monson said it (or something very much like it) during his talk this morning, and it stood out to me as something I should tattoo to the back of my hand. Or maybe my kids’ foreheads, where I’d see it constantly.

Okay, so that wouldn’t be a great idea. I’m in Utah — maybe I should stencil it onto something, paint it cutesie, and sell it. LOL!

There were a great many other things that I learned through the 4 sessions I watched. What a wonderful weekend! Cinderella and Doodle really did pretty well, all things considered. Saturday morning they were stellar in our living room as we all watched it together. They colored a bit, but also spent a lot of the time on our laps paying attention in their little-kid way. Every once in a while Doodle would exclaim, “They said Jesus!” or “maywadge” (marriage), or “temple!” It was cute. Sister did similar, and even had a few intelligent questions here and there, which gave us opportunity to briefly explain things… it was lovely.

Saturday afternoon, however, I went with Autumn and her (not LDS) mother to see the session in person. That went quite well for me, but I don’t know if John got to hear much at all, at home with the three kids. Eagle kindly slept through most of it, I heard, but D boycotted naptime and C was quite put out that she couldn’t come. She’s *very* excited to turn 8 so she can go, too.

Sunday morning we went up to John’s sister’s to watch it with them, and it was wonderful to see them again. They live all of 15 blocks away, but it’s been quite a while since we’ve gotten together. I hate how that happens! Our boys are pretty close in age – she also has a 2yo & a baby – It’s fun to watch them interract. The babies, of course, don’t do much besides try to pull eachother’s features off, but it’s still cute. (Sorry, no pictures of any of this! Bad blogger, bad blogger…)

We picked Grams (mom’s mom) up, dropped Autumn off (she came with us to Aunt Alene’s! Yay!), and then headed down to my mom’s for the afternoon session. What a wonderful time we had there. 🙂 It deserves its own post, and will hopefully get it as soon as the pictures are loaded.

Another message from our dear prophet that has stuck with me also came from his Sunday morning talk. I don’t have the direct quote, so I’ll just have to write the jist of it. He was talking to parents of young children (I tried to get them to shush so I could hear…), and he mentioned the toys strewn across the house, and the piles of laundry to do. (I asked John if the prophet had come calling without my knowledge recently.) Then he said how all too soon, the kids would be grown, the messes would be gone, and we would find that we missed them.

This subject is a hard one for me. I needed that reminder.

So! Hope all my LDS friends enjoyed Conference this October, and I hope all my nonLDS friends get curious enough to read a talk or two when the transcripts come out. 😉

2 Responses to Don’t let solving problems get in the way of loving people

  1. Wendy says:

    I didn’t even hear your title quote. Or if I did, I don’t remember it. I do remember the messes and laundry bit, though. Take joy in the journey. Trying–

    Have a great day!

  2. Ashley says:

    That is one thing I really do miss about Utah… getting to go to Temple Square and go to Conference in person. I loved that! I’m so glad you got to experience it!

Leave a Reply

