Supermom powers

So, I’m having a *very* hard week between the hours of 5pm and 8:30am daily. I go to bed every night just pleading with the Powers that be to let me get some solid sleep (which means, let Eagle get some long stretches in there…) but… so far…
I’m learning patience, my empathy for those with Depression is kindled anew every morning, and I’m grateful for the silver linings. Like the extra insurance that I’m not expecting Baby4 since he’s nursing every 2 or 3 hours all night. Like Cinderella and Doodle being pretty understanding, given their ages, and in very good moods this week.

This morning when my friend Kar called about the preschool we were doing here today, and said the customary “How’re things going?” I almost broke down and cried. It was before 8:30, so my deal-with-it-supermom powers hadn’t kicked in yet.

It’s just a phase. Yeah. He’ll grow out of it when he decides to like more solid-foods. Or he won’t, and John will come home one day to a nanny, a cook, and a maid, and I’ll be on a beach on some tropical island. He’ll think, “Dang, I should never have put her name on that home equity line of credit.”

He’ll pause, take a look around at the house that no longer looks like it threw up, and say, “But hey! The house looks fantastic & dinner smells divine. Maybe this wasn’t such a bad idea…”
7 Responses to Supermom powers

  1. Katie Harding says:

    Haha! You poor thing. I’ve had mornings like that! Especially through Lucy’s first 6 months! Having hardly gotten any sleep at all, I used to wonder what the heck I was thinking when i decided i wanted to become a mom. But as we all know this phase will pass. And then one day you will be looking at your children and get that overwhelming “mom feeling” and you will know how absolutely blessed you are! Something that really helps me on the hard mornings is reading my patriarchal blessing before I get my girls up. (Or maybe in your case while you are nursing) Try it every time your get that “ugh” feeling. It really gets your day off to the right start! Good luck you’ll get past this! You’re such a great mom!

  2. Wendy says:

    Call me before you go, and I’ll come join you. Not that I’m nursing anyone every 2 to 3 hours all night, but the tropical beach sounds incredibly nice.

    I’m so, so sorry. It’s so HARD to even get out of your pajamas on days like that. Wish I could do something to help, although I suppose just saying, “This, too, shall pass” doesn’t do much.

    Guess what, though. I get to go on a writers’ retreat next weekend! I’m SO excited. I have not had a night away from all my children since before we moved here–FIVE years ago. So, sorry–I hope that doesn’t seem like I was rubbing it in. I’m just excited.

    Hang in there!

  3. Heidi AND Brian, says:

    Hey that doesn’t sound like a bad idea, I might even join ya. 🙂 lol

  4. Coralie says:

    If you need me to help with ANYTHING,call me. I am up half the time any ways during those hours. Even if you just need to talk (or cry) I will be there. I can take both Doodle and Cinderella tomorrow if you want )don’t know what John is doing, but if you need me too, just let me know. Anything you need I am there. I know exactly how that is, that’s why BC was on bottles…I gave up. LOL.

  5. Veronica says:

    You’ve been tagged. See my blog ford details!

  6. one sleepy mommy says:

    You're all so sweet! I'm so blessed to have such great friends. And yes, it passed. My sleep tank has been refilled and life is much better.

    Katie – Great advice! I'm going to see if I can sneak some blessing-reading in during breakfast.

    Wendy – I'm SO excited for you! Made me totally happy to hear about it. Where's the retreat & who's it through? Maybe I should just go check your blog…

    Coralie – Next time, I'll pick on you when I'm falling off the end of my rope. I'm sure it'll happen again. 🙂 (Though hopefully not for a while!)

  7. Ashley says:

    I want to come too! Love the idea. 🙂 You’re a GREAT mommy and I’m sure you’ll get through all the hard times with flying colors. I can totally relate with you though, and I only have ONE kid! It’s hard to imagine having three and still doing it all!

Leave a Reply

