Get ready, get set, go!

Great Talk for todayby Marion G. Romney

I have lots of thoughts in my mind and heart that I’d love to share, but share intelligently. Alas, severe sleep deprivation (thank you Eagle) greatly inhibits my ability to sound intelligent. Nevertheless, here are some more thoughts from your blogaholic (no, let’s call it journaling) friend.
With all the craziness in our world today, and specifically in our American economy this week, I thought I’d share my reaction:
YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

No, sleep deprivation has not rendered me completely insane. No, I’m not writing from a white padded cell. I shall share the reasons for my happiness in the midst of calamity. Bear with me through a few quotes, scriptures, etc. I’ve had this hymn cycling through my head all morning:
In faith we’ll rely on the arm of Jehovah
to guide through these last days of trouble and gloom.
And when the ungodly are fearing and tremble
We’ll rise with the just when the Savior doth come. (Hymns 3)

Doctrine and Covenants 45:35, 57-58
And I said unto them: Be not troubled, for, when all these things shall come to pass, ye may know that the promises which have been made unto you shall be fulfilled…
For they that are wise and have received the
truth, and have taken the Holy Spirit for their guide, and have not been deceived—verily I say unto you, they shall not be hewn down and cast into the fire, but shall abide the day.
And the
earth shall be given unto them for an inheritance; and they shall multiply and wax strong, and their children shall grow up without sin unto salvation.

I guess if I were to condense all my thoughts into a nutshell, this would be it:

the calamities happening now (and during the last few years) to me are more than tragedies. To me they are “signs of the times” – evidence that Christ is coming. Soon! YES!!!!!!!! All the junk we wade through, all the wickedness and messed up priorities, all the corruption in government & industries, all the sickness and disease, all the depression, in short, all the “trouble and gloom” – it’s all going away! It’s going to be beautiful here.

Sure, the scenes winding up to it are going to be unpleasant. It’s like childbirth in so many ways… Forgive me, male readers, for indulging here in a perfect analogy. Childbirth is a natural part of life, and I feel no qualms about diving into it here. If you’re reading this, childbirth brought you here. Get over it.

By 8 ½ months, a woman is SO uncomfortable, she’s willing to go through anything to be restored to her normal state of being. There’s also that great desire to look on her baby’s face and hold her on the outside instead of carrying her inside. If she has done lots of research about what exactly happens during childbirth, when that first contraction hits, she’ll know what’s going on. (Okay, I know there are exceptions – I’m speaking based off my experiences, k?) She’ll know it’s not just something she ate – this is it! Showtime! The miserable days of pregnancy are almost over! The time to hold and cuddle and love that precious brand-new baby are SO CLOSE! Yay!!!!

That’s how I feel today. Our economy is crashing! Natural disasters abound! Hold on folks, it’s about to get pretty intense… But if you’ve practiced listening to the Spirit, you’ll be okay. It’s not going to be pleasant, but it will be (a) amazing when it’s all over! (b) possible to have peace in your heart in spite of intensity.

Get ready!

4 Responses to Get ready, get set, go!

  1. Wendy says:

    Great reminder–

  2. Mrs Nancy says:

    I agree with you completely! I like to use the pregnancy analogy also. It really explains how it is, the baby is symbolic of Jesus! It is the best of times and the worst of times! The best for those who are watching for the coming of the Lord! But we will still go through some hardships before he comes as you already stated! Have you read some of the dreams about the last days? And have you been on ldsavow.com website? They talk about last days preparation. You have to pay membership. It is a great place to go to meet like minded people! There are a few free preparedness place too,it is called ldsglo and providentsaints. You can find it on my blog.

  3. Ashley says:

    Oh, YOU are One Sleepy Mommy! I thought it was you but wasn’t totally sure. 🙂 To answer your question, Kirsten will be almost two years older than Baby #2. My due date is April 18’th, and Kirsten will turn 2 on May 13’th. So, pretty good timing I thought! 🙂 We need to talk soon! We should schedule a time.

  4. one sleepy mommy says:

    We should!!!

Leave a Reply

