Relief Society Lesson, take 3

I have decided that teaching is great fun. It’s a great responsibility, yes, but I learn enough much in the process that it’s something I look forward to each month. Last month I printed things out to tape up on the board — This month I used the chalkboard instead. It was actually my first time attempting chalk-usage, and I’ve got a bit to learn.

Like, if you want to write something on the board ahead of time, plan to be at church a half-hour early. I planned today to be 15 minutes early, thinking that would be fine, but I ended up walking in to Relief Society as it was starting. Nice. (I take that back. Sarcasm doesn’t transfer well through the written word, so I’ll just put it plain: it was WAY frustrating to drag a reluctant 2 yr. old into nursery, and to be hauling Eagle, a globe, and our 4 bags at the same time. Where’s John when I need him, dangit?)

The lesson was on a talk from Pres. Uchtdorf, A Matter of a Few Degrees. Awesome talk, and if you’ve read it, you know why I wanted a globe. πŸ™‚

Pres. Uchtdorf spoke at the Relief Society Broadcast last night, too. It was wonderful. I went to the Conference Center for it, and wow. I haven’t been to a meeting like that (in person) in a while. At one moment, I felt connected with dear friends far away, knowing that they were likely participating in the same broadcast, via satellite. I love the way the gospel connects me with all my sisters, regardless of how far away or how long it’s been since I’ve seen them. Blogs are good for that, too, but the gospel is even better. πŸ˜‰

5 Responses to Relief Society Lesson, take 3

  1. Wendy says:

    I didn’t see you. But I looked.

  2. one sleepy mommy says:

    πŸ™‚

  3. The Haren Family says:

    I was wondering if you were there sitting with all those sisters. I looked for you too…and was sooooo hopeful that the camera would catch you. Although in the long run, I’m glad it didn’t…you know…

  4. Jenny says:

    Glad to hear you like teaching now. I hope the same will happen for me. Do you have any tips? Pres. Uchtdorf’s talk at the RS meeting was incredible. How neat you got to be there!

  5. Coralie says:

    I loved this lesson by the way. It was great. I loved the broadcast as well. I wish I could have seen you at the conference center. I was there with my mom. How fun. Loved your lesson though… πŸ™‚ you are a great teacher.

Leave a Reply

