Morning sickness…

… is so not fun.

Gotcha! I bet you all thought I was… but I’m not! I was just reminiscing a bit, having read my friend’s post about dealing with lots and lots of un-fun-ness getting through her first pregnancy. She’s having a little girl and I’m WAY excited for her. 🙂 This was my response to her post:

“I almost laughed when you said how you don’t know why anyone would be pregnant more than once — because I thought the EXACT same thing when I was sick & pregnant with Clarissa. It’s the most sick and awful feeling in the whole wide world, definitely far surpassing any illness before it, so you just think, “WHY on earth would ANYONE ever go into this *again* knowing what it could be like? Once, sure, you don’t know what it’s like… but twice? Uh-uh. No way. All mothers must be insane!!!”
“lol!
“Fortunately for everyone who wasn’t a first-baby, motherhood is even more magnificent, miraculous, and fulfilling than morning-sickness is miserable. Fear not! It’s totally worth all those hours bent over the porcelain… nevermind. ;)”

I now fondly remember the list I made after I hit the 2nd-trimester mark. You see, I was banking on the sickness to go away IMMEDIATELY after the 1st trimester expired. It didn’t. I was not happy with that. Everyone knows the first trimester is the worst, and the second is smooth sailing. Admittedly, I got better during that 2nd trimester, but it took a while. When you’re barfing several times a day & are eating and drinking in mouse-sized purportions, every day counts.

So the list. Sorry. I digress. I made a list beginning with, “You know you’re not over morning sickness when…” and even in the middle of it all, it made me smile. The only thing I remember now from it is:
… When you notice how nice and soft the bathroom rug is, not under your feet, but under your knees.”

Yes, babies are so worth it… No, motherhood is not for wussies!!!

3 Responses to Morning sickness…

  1. The Haren Family says:

    Amen! Amen! and Amen!

  2. Coralie says:

    LOL!!!! I can’t stop laughing. I know EXACTLY WHAT YOU MEAN! 🙂 I felt the same way! But, once I had BN and got to hold her in my arms for the first time I guess I forgot about ALL the pain and discomfort, because I was so excited when I found out I was prego again! It lasted about two weeks before my memory came back to an all to clear picture that lasted for several months! LOL. BUT you are right. It is sooo worth it. I would be sick every day of the pregnancy to have my babies. There is no comparison.

  3. Ashley says:

    I love this post, especially since I am experiencing morning sickness again right NOW. Yes, it’s SO not fun and I’m ready for it to be over but also so worth it!

Leave a Reply

