Friends Forever

What a treat to be so loved that someone drove 600 miles just to come visiting us! . Kim and I have been friends since I moved into her ward as a youth 10 years ago. We had two years of friendship before she went up to BYU as a freshman, then she came home & I transferred up to the Y – school swap! A year 1/2 later I graduated & came back, where we enjoyed another year or two in the same state once again. During that year as Young Single Adults, Kim was roomates with Karlyn Finnell (now Tolley), and the three of us are still close. There’s just something special about the friends that get you through your YSA time, not unlike the best friends you have through childhood/middle school. They hold a special place in your heart and life. I’m grateful to have had such great friends in my life, and blessed to still stay in touch with them. Yay!

Photo captions: Above, me & Kim in our Halloween 2002 boat dance costumes. The three of us (me, Kim & Karlyn) were Misses: Miss Fortune, Miss Tickle, Miss Demeanor – and Kar’s brother, Ben, was our security guard. (Sorry, Kar, can’t find your “Miss Demeanor” portrait… grr!) Fuuuuuunny stories, but no time for that here. If I find my other boat-dance pictures, I’ll be tempted to post just about that. Above, right, me & Kim in a photo booth at Knott’s Berry Farm, age 18 (?).

Below, bottom, me & Kim in a self-portrait taken at a YSA dance, with the help of a bathroom mirror. I know it’s blurry, but I just love this picture. Below, right, Kim, Kristen, Karlyn, and me @ Disneyland — incidentally, the day after I met John. No, he wasn’t there. More stories. (both photos, age 20-ish)

Anyway, Kim’s husband Shonn hasn’t ever been to Utah – gasp! So they took their first family vacation up HERE to visit & see the sights. I love her account of their adventures on their blog, and Episode 1 of my rendition will follow this post.

3 Responses to Friends Forever

  1. Jenny says:

    So fun! I’m really horrible at keeping in touch with people, and am only very minimally in contact with people from my HS/college days (save those few who are good at keeping track of me, despite my shortcomings in this area). Sigh. I need to be a better friend.

  2. melissa g says:

    I miss Kim! How fun to have her visit. 🙂

  3. hopelesslyharen says:

    How fun!!! Don’t we look soooo cute. Not that I’m biased or anything. Ahhh…those were the days. No dirty diapers…etc. And we thought boys were the biggest problem in and with civilization. How little we knew…lol.

    It was so much fun to visit!!! Miss you!!!

Leave a Reply

