Look Who’s Talking!

He spoke! Just now, he did! Oh, the excitement. It’s not every 6 month old baby that speaks.

But Evan does.

I meant to do a cutesie “Evan is 6 months old now!” post on his 6-month-date… but I didn’t. So now I shall try to make up for it by sharing how excited I am about his most recent word:

MAMA!!!!!!!

Okay, so it was more like, “Ma ma ma ma ma”

but he meant me. He was crying after a nap and I was just putting dinner in the oven, so he had to wait a minute; when I got there he stopped crying, reached out for me and said, “Mamamamama.” It counts. Really! More than his two other pseudo-words.

“Puh puh puh,” (as in diaper) means “change my diaper, please, it’s wet,” and when he scratches stuff it means he’s hungry. At least, it usually means he’s hungry. Sometimes it just means he’s scared or needs me. It’s so awesome that he has language already. I’m grateful to have picked up on it. Looks like I should’ve been teaching this one sign language. Add it to the top of my list of things to do. šŸ™‚


(this picture to be replaced by a more recent one of Evan, to be taken as soon as the batteries for the camera are done charging.)

2 Responses to Look Who’s Talking!

  1. Coralie says:

    That is so exciting. These are the times that erase all of the madness for your life, even just for a few seconds, and let you realize what a miracle families are. I am so excited that he is talking. Mama is the best word they learn šŸ˜‰

  2. Wendy says:

    Ah. I love being mamamama.

Leave a Reply

