Our trip, July 30-Aug 1

We were staying a timeshare (through Worldmark, which we LOVE) in Eden, Utah. This is the view from our patio. With Eden being closer to Logan, I was excited to show John that beautiful spot of the world. It happens also that the Utah Festival Opera is going on there currently, and Thursday they were playing Into the Woods. Sweet! I haven’t ever seen that, and have wanted to for as long as I’ve known it exists. (10 years, maybe) Being the resourceful one, John used his blackberry to map our route from Eden to Logan…
And alas, the road marked “highway” turned into a dirt, pebble-covered road for at least 30 miles…
that (cringe!!!!) climbed up a mountain with a several 100-ft drop next to it.

Oh, how I hate that sort of drive. I don’t know what changed or when, because I certainly wasn’t afraid of heights as a kid, but that whole steep dropoff next to the road thing… Oh my. It makes my stomache turn to think about it. Part of my brain sees how beautiful, how breathtakingly beautiful the view is as we switched back and forth up the mountain. Most of me was screaming AHHHHHHHHHHHH WE’RE GOING TO DIE!!!!!!!

When we finally got to the top, this was the view.

And see, we survived.
After reaching the top, I was NOT looking forward to the same thing on the other side… but it turned out not to be that way. (Yay!) It was gently sloping ranchland, and followed a beautiful little stream for quite a while. Here’s the first of many cows we saw on the road. Literally on the road. πŸ™‚
Terrifying dropoff notwithstanding, it was a gorgeous drive. We really enjoyed being in the middle of nowhere like that, and spent most of the drive talking about what it would be like living there. I’m a big fan of paved roads, so we wouldn’t live in Avon (land of the potholes and cows). After giving in to depair that we’d ever see asphalt again, we finally made it back to (huzzah!) a beautifully, recently paved road.

This was a place just barely speckled with homes. At first, the lone house in the distance couldn’t see its neighbors. (A little too remote for me. Ideal for John.) Then they were close enough that you could see 4 or 5 at the same time. In a place populated about like that, called Paradise, by the way, we came up to a most gorgeous home… Only to find as we got closer, that it was in fact a BARN!

The house belonging to that amazing structure took my breath away.

LOVE the pillars. Wow, wow, and wow.
Below you see the barn and the mansion. We took pictures for future reference. “Someday” it would be awesome to build a home similar to these.

Alas, driving up a mountain and down a very bumpy, rocky road took a bit longer than we’d planned for. (Dangit!) We rather missed the opera. So we thought we’d go through the Logan Temple… It is a beautiful castle of a sanctuary


Look how small I am! πŸ™‚ This place is huge.
Alas, and ironically, it was closed for cleaning this week.

We had a nice time enjoying the peaceful landscape, looking at this temple close up for the first time together. Sure, it would’ve been nicer to be able to enjoy the peacefulness on the inside… but that’ll have to wait until another time.

And so we ended up walking the small “downtown” Logan, window shopping. Possibly one of John’s least favorite activities… πŸ˜‰ Well, if not quite that bad, it’s absolutely a pastime he only does to humor me. What a great guy.

I had a particular interest in walking that street. When I was up there for the family reunion in July, Gramsie told me a story I hadn’t heard before. She was going to college in Logan when she met and dated my Grandpa, and waited for him 18 months while he served in WWII. There was only one wedding dress in town, and a waiting list for it… Grams was 9th on the list, and eventually made it to the top. I wish I had a picture of it for my entry here… But I don’t. Anyway, since hearing the story I very sentimentally wanted to walk that street.
We found a store, a most wonderful used bookstore. And spent at least 2 hours browsing in the glorious, dusty smell of old, old books.

Seriously, it was amazing. There were (no exaggeration) 10’s of thousands of books on all topics… We spent more there than we would have on opera tickets. Oops. It was absolutely an activity that you couldn’t do with three kids under 5. Which was our goal in finding things to do on our mini-2nd-honeymoon. πŸ™‚

2 Responses to Our trip, July 30-Aug 1

  1. Wendy says:

    Fun! I would LOVE to go to that bookstore.

  2. Ashley says:

    Window shopping is one of Stephen’s least favorite activities too. πŸ™‚ I like that story about your Grandma and the one wedding dress in town. I’m glad you guys had fun!

Leave a Reply

