Happy News

I survived!

Teaching my first lesson in Relief Society, that is. ๐Ÿ™‚ All in all, not as painful as it could have been. I felt a little like a toddler learning to walk, hoping that the people watching me wouldn’t laugh when I fell. Thankfully, the sisters in my ward are kind and contributed fantastic insights when asked/prodded. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Highlights:Starting off and realizing my “attention grabber” question at the beginning was the perfect, intriguing, captivating question… for nursery aged kids. Hahaha! I asked them “What are characteristics of something alive?” and I got these looks that said, “You’re kidding, right?” It was so surprising! And then it hit me — Ooops. A two year old would be totally fascinated by a discusion about what the differences are between alive and, um, not alive. We had a good chuckle about it, we did, and then a few people took pity on me and spoke the obvious. Bless them for it.

When the RS President told me it was time to end (thank heavens she did, cuz I had no idea what time exactly I was supposed to close things up)… and before I could stop myself I said (with visable relief and great gusto), “It is? Sweet!!!
Oops again.

I probably wouldn’t have felt that way so much except that (ARGH) I printed out my well-thought-out and much-prepared outline for the lesson… and left it in the printer at home. For those of you who know me well, I’m sure you aren’t surprised. I was SO reminded of the time I forgot the article I was supposed to base a talk off of. I had my outline then, but not the subject matter from which I had planned to quote.

NOTE: It is much, much, much better to have the words of apostles and prophets in front of you and lack the detailed outline of your presentation than it is to have said outline and lack inspired text.

So. I learned a lot about what not to do, and yes a few things that did go well that I shall strive to repeat next month… and I’m grateful for a calling that is motivating me to be better, strengthening my testimony, helping me rely on the Lord more, and providing an opportunity for Him to work a miracle in our ward — because for me to give a coherant and uplifting lesson is definitely a miracle.

๐Ÿ™‚

3 Responses to Happy News

  1. Ashley says:

    Wow, I would have been nervous too, for sure! I’m so used to being in Primary, I’d be freaked out by a calling where I actually had to teach ADULTS! Have I told you I’m the Primary chorister again in this ward? Yep! Fun fun!
    I’m sure you did a great job on your lesson!

  2. brookebaby says:

    i know exactly how you feel! i taught relief society in my last ward and I would have a panic attack the whole week before the lesson. Its rough, but so fun! Sounds like you did better than you think, I’m sure next time you’ll be even better! Good luck.

  3. Smith Fam says:

    Thanks ladies! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

